Yarn Bee Soft & Sleek Low-Pill Fiber Solids – Review

Hello everyone! Today I have a review on Hobby Lobby’s yarn brand, Yarn Bee. I made a scarf when testing this yarn, and if you would like to see the finished project you can view my Windowpane Scarf Pattern ReviewWhen I do my reviews of yarn I test three different things, Color consistency, Pilling, and Yarn spilting frequency.

1345776[5].jpg

1.) Color consistency

Screen Shot 2017-04-06 at 8.28.06 AM.pngThe color consistency is great for this yarn! I did try a different Yarn bee yarn about a month ago that started off plain grey and ended plain grey with stripes. (Which it wasn’t supposed to do that.)

2.) Pilling

Screen Shot 2017-04-06 at 8.30.11 AM.png

As you can see from this photo below, that it has a light amount of pilling. Its about the average amount for acrylic yarn. But when you are wearing the item, you are not looking at the scarf that close anyway!

unnamed-7.jpg

3.) Yarn spilting frequency

Screen Shot 2017-04-06 at 8.28.37 AM.png

One of the very large downsides of this yarn is that it splitted so often! Every 4-5 stitches I made were splitted. (This slowed me down a lot on my project.)

     Extras:

When I was about halfway through my scarf there was a mysterious knot in the yarn tying to ends together. If this is normal with some yarns, let me know in the comments!

                                               Overall:Screen Shot 2017-04-06 at 8.31.53 AM.png

For only $3.99 at Hobby Lobby (with 40% off coupon only $2.40) It is worth the price. I would definitely work with this yarn. My only concern is the constant splitting, but if you are doing a project with large stitches this shouldn’t be a problem for you!

I hope you enjoyed todays blog post. And if you would like to see more follow Perfectly Crocheted!

3 thoughts on “Yarn Bee Soft & Sleek Low-Pill Fiber Solids – Review

  1. Tami says:

    This is a great review! I like the format of your rating system. I have come across knots in the middle of the skein but fortunately they didn’t impact the project I was working on when they occurred. This happened only a couple of times in hundreds of skeins of yarn. I know what you mean about splitting. I love Caron Simply Soft but it tends to split a lot too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

